Friday, May 25, 2012

15 Dates of Importance, 1912- 1939

[By Kenton Rambsy]

1913- Author and director Oscar Micheaux publishes his first novel, Conquest: The Story Of A Negro Pioneer, through The Woodruff Press. The novel is published anonymously and is based on his life as a homesteader.

1918- Hope’s Highway by Sarah Lee Brown Fleming is published by Neale Publishing Company

1923- Cane by Jean Toomer is published by Boni and Liveright.

1926-1927- Oscar Micheaux directs and produces The Conjure Woman (1926) and The House Behind the Cedars (1927). These two films are inspired by two novels by Charles Chesnutt.

1927- Knopf  Publishing company republishes The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man with James Weldon Johnson being credited as the author unlike the 1912 version.

1928- The Walls of Jericho by Rudolph Fisher is published by Knopf.  

1928- Home to Harlem by Claude McKay is published by Harper and Brothers.

1929- Claude McKay wins Harmon Gold Award for Literature for his novel Home to Harlem.

1929- Passing by Nella Larsen is published by Knopf.

1929- The Blacker the Berry: A Novel of Negro Life by Wallace Thurman is published by the Macaulay Company

1930- Not Without Laughter, the only novel written by Langston Hughes, is published by Knopf.

1930- Nella Larsen becomes the first black person to be awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. She uses the funds to travel Europe to write a novel.

1931- Black No More by George Schuyler is published by The Macauley Company

1932- One Way To Heaven by Countee Cullen is published by Harpers.

1937- Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston is published by J.B. Lippincott. 

No comments:

Post a Comment