Saturday, November 7, 2015

The Project on the History of Black Writing Presents: A Webinar with Nikky Finney

Please join Project HBW as we talk with poet Nikky Finney on Wednesday, November 11th in our third webinar of the semester!

Nikky Finney has published poetry, fiction and an anthology. Her books include The World is Round (2003), Heartwood (1997), Rice (1995), On Wings Made of Gauze (1985), and the edited collection, The Ringing Ear: Black Poets Lean South (2007). In 2011, her fourth book of poetry, Head Off & Split, won the National Book Award. In 2013, Northwestern University Press published hardback editions of three of Finney’s books in a special limited box set, titled Sweet Box of Words. A founding member of the Affrilachian Poets, she is also on the faculty of Cave Canem. Additional awards include a PEN America Open Book Award and the Benjamin Franklin Award for Poetry. After a long tenure at the University of Kentucky, where she was the Provost’s Distinguished Service Professor of English, she returned to her native South Carolina to become The John H. Bennett, Jr. Chair in Southern Letters and Literature. A child of activists, Finney came of age during the Civil Rights Movement and the Black Arts Movement and had an early career as a photographer.

On September 6, 2012, Finney visited the University of Kansas and gave a talk, "Making Poetry in Our Anthropocene Age." We are happy to welcome Finney back, if only through a digital medium. 

The webinar will take place on
Wednesday, November 11th, 2015
3:00 PM EST / 2:00 PM CST / 1:00 PM MST / 12:00 PM PST

It will be moderated by Monifa Love Assante, NEH Summer Scholar.


This webinar is one in a series put on by the Project on the History of Black Writing and sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Upcoming webinars will include Jericho Brown, jessica Care moore, Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie, Sonia Sanchez, and Nathaniel Mackey. Click here for a comprehensive list of writers and dates. If you weren't able to attend past webinars and would like to see what you missed, click here to listen to our talk with Kwame Dawes and here to listen in as we talk with Sharan Strange.

Members of the general public and students of all levels are invited to join us!

No comments:

Post a Comment